Brexit - Green Card Guidance

Updated FAQs section following EU decision October 2021

The EU has confirmed that the UK will remain in the Green Card Free Circulation zone. This means that from 2 August 2021 Green Cards are no longer required to drive in the EU and any countries which adhere to the EU directives on motor insurance.

Customers should continue to carry their Certificate of Motor Insurance, as this is evidence that their motor policy covers them to do so. A digital copy will be accepted.

For your information, the countries included in the decision above, are:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Gibraltar, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Montenegro, Norway, San Marino, Serbia, and Switzerland.

It should be noted however, that the rules in relation to driving licences and International Driving Permits have changed.

For more information click here.